Rails Presentation

Yesterday I gave my second Rails Presentation at UVA’s new beTech technology group. We had a great turn-out for their first event ever (hah, I just noticed Erik is giving his Lucene presentation in November! beTech works fast!). Around 35 people came, including friends and colleagues from UVA and Upstate, and my mom, who was in town. I had completely reworked my presentation from the first I did at The Neon Guild back in may.

For this presentation, I created a teaser application that was just one table and generated scaffolding. I zoomed through it and added some AJAX/DHTML at the end. Then I went to slides and gave an overview of Ruby and Rails before creating the second application live. This one involved four db tables and was a simple check-out app for checking out laptop computers to users. The models included: Laptop, User, Condition (condition of the computer), and Checkout. I ended up having more material than time—after 90 minutes, I still had 30 minutes of material, but was able to end at a good spot anyway. I thoroughly enjoyed presenting, and Steven and Anna were thrilled with the turn-out and my presentation.

I’m looking forward to the upcoming presentations.

1 Response to “Rails Presentation”


  1. 1 Eb July 21, 2005 at 7:53 pm

    Rails and crazy train?


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Categories

Copyright ©2008-2013 James E Orchard-Hays, All Rights Reserved

