TextMate Rocks

I’m writing some Selenium tests today and I felt like giving TextMate a whirl at my HTML writing. (I’ve generally used Dreamweaver or NVu in wysiwyg mode for this.) I decided a little automation was in order, so I created a simple snippet that generates a table row after I type “str” and press the tab key. So I get:

<tr>
  <td></td>
  <td></td>
  <td></td>
</tr>

By giving my snippet $n placeholders, the cursor starts in the first cell and by using tab I’m placed in the next cell and then on the next line after the closing row tag when I’m done.

<tr>
  <td>$1</td>
  <td>$2</td>
  <td>$3</td>
</tr>
2 Responses to “TextMate Rocks”


  1. 1 Anoop September 28, 2005 at 12:41 pm

    dude, eclipse has had this for years. i’m sure intellij has it too! that way you don’t even have to leave your dev environment.

  2. 2 jamie September 28, 2005 at 12:41 pm

    And I use them too! Sometimes I don’t want or need to be in a big, heavy IDE, like when I’m just doing html or Ruby.


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Categories

Copyright ©2008-2013 James E Orchard-Hays, All Rights Reserved

