MacBook Pro Battery Grows

A couple of days ago my MacBook Pro started shutting down randomly while running on battery. I called Apple, they had me reset the power manager and the PRAM. The next day, it shut down again, so I called Apple and they agreed to ship a new battery. Yesterday, while still on the original battery, I noticed my clicker acting funny-it felt scratchy. Today it got worse-it wouldn’t push down very far. Then I remembered a buddy who had had the same issue (our machines were made and shipped together—they tracked together all the way from Shanghai). First his MBP randomly shut down on battery power. Then the battery swelled. The swelling was so bad, it caused permanent damage to his clicker. I pulled out my battery, and sure enough, my clicker returned to normal. I looked sideways at the battery. It’s started bulging in the middle and the aluminum bottom is starting to separate.

How can there not be a recall on these batteries yet?

Here’s Anoop’s post. I have the same heat and whine issues. Apple agreed to service it a few months ago, but I’ve needed it too much to send it in. Hopefully in July.

5 Responses to “MacBook Pro Battery Grows”


  1. 1 Svein Ove June 9, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    What worries me is that these are Li-Ion batteries, which have been known to catch fire or explode in extreme malfunctions.

    Obviously I don’t know exactly what is causing the swelling, but it seems entirely possible that the chance of catastrophic failure also exists.

  2. 2 Jamie June 9, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    No kidding. I sent the swollen battery back today. Before packaging it up I took some photos with a straight edge on it. Then I took some with the straight edge on the new battery. The new one is flat on both sides and the old clearly bulges. Very disconcerting.

  3. 3 Same problem June 9, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Hey

    I have the same exact problem. Improper switchoffs … after a while .. the battery swells and deforms and affects the clicker

    I also have to remove it and ask for the replacement.

    someone should make a fuss about it

  4. 4 amon June 9, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    thats great but what the hell is a clicker 🙂

  5. 5 John June 9, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    I have had the Mac Book Pro for about 2 months now and it cuts off randomly everytime it isn’t plugged in. Someone should really yell at apple for not admitting to their faults. This is stupid.


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Categories

Copyright ©2008-2013 James E Orchard-Hays, All Rights Reserved

